The Asian Confederation for Physical Therapy (ACPT) has been established since April 27, 1980 in Taipei.


The main purpose of this organization is to promote the professional growth of the physical therapy in Asia.

The original members are Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Korea, Philippines, Thailand and Taiwan.


The first General Assembly was held in Bangkok, Thailand in 1981. Since then, eleven General Assemblies were held in different member countries every three years according to the constitution.